Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace.Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a univeristy?

Some individuals argue that college must teach and prepare students for their future work while others claim that the real function of a university is to provide the knowledge to their students ignoring if it will be useful in their future job or not. This essay agrees with the latter rather than the former and it aims to explain the reason for this opinion. Firstly, the necessary skills and knowledge needed to work are always changing and predicting those changes is utterly impossible. This happens for many reasons, one of them being technological advancement. For example, the fast growth in the field of communications created a new market for very small video producers in videos websites such as Youtube. The different skill sets needed to create videos are taught separately in college because companies usually require specialized workers like cameramen. Another reason for this change is social changes. For instance, the recent lockdown changed the way we live and work. One significant change was that people had to learn how to work remotely, this change was more significant to some workers than another. As an example of this, teachers had to learn how to teach their subjects online. This is a new skill that nobody expected. Secondly, if no one teaches a piece of knowledge because is not required in any job it can be lost forever because the time will come when nobody has learned it. Some day that knowledge can be useful but there will be no one to remember it. An example of this are some philosophy subjects. To conclude, the main reasons why, in my opinion, universities should give access to all knowledge are that it is impossible to predict what is going to be needed in future jobs and the knowledge that is not taught is eventually lost.