Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Traffic accidents are now an important topic because of the rise in numbers and deaths. People have different opinion about it. From my point of view it should be strict consequences for traffic incidents but it should also be a mix of both methods. On one side, law should be more strict to those who do illegal things in the roads. This, is due to that if people see that the consequences of his acts are biggers, they will take more care of not commiting those infractions. An example of this, is Norway where the law about traffic is very severe. This has produce in the recent years, a big reduce of the number of deaths and accidents in the european country. And that can be a model for other countries who can follow this type of rules to resolve the problem. On the other side, in other countries the are also severe monetary and punishment consequences and the number of accidents continues to rise. This is why i think there are others methods to reduce this and that are more flexible, like investment in education about the topic. For instance, the ASR in France is a clear example. ASR is a educational course promote by the France government to teach teenagers about cars dangers and basic rules. This, can make the young people in a future to be already prepare for the moment when they will drive To conclude, strict punishments can be a good option to reduce the accidents on the roads but this should be combined with other type of methods