Some people argue that spending a lot of money holding birthday parties, wedding parties and other celebration is a waste of money. However, others believe such parties are important for individuals and for society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is a norm to celebrate and spend on special occasions such as birthdays, weddings, or engagements. Some people regard this as misspending of wealth while others tend to believe it is beneficial to both human beings and society. I feel celebrations are important for personal memory creation but spending lavishly for the maintenance of social status is unnecessary. The following paragraphs will illustrate the merits of this position. On one hand, happy memories are essential to our mental health, as it strengthens our sense of identity and bond our relationships with the community. Celebrations are perfect means to create moments that can be treasured forever for both the host and the guests. For instance, a wedding is an important step in bonding two families and spending funds to bring friends and families together is deemed important. Celebrations fulfil an individual to happy, lasting memories. In addition, it provides employment to people in the hospitality or event management business and must be spent. On the other hand, conspicuous display of income for either attaining or maintaining a social status is pointless. People often borrow to celebrate big fat weddings due to societal pressure. For example, in India, ridiculously expensive wedding or birthday parties are thrown by business families for 7 days at an exclusive location. They spend an insane amount of cash in the span of a week often leading to huge financial burdens. Furthermore, in such,functions there is huge wastage of food and beverages. Thus, spending too much for an event can be taxing resulting in unwanted pressure. In conclusion, there are some positive effects of celebration parties such as building lifetime memory and enhancing the bond in the community but spending insanely for social importance is senseless. In my opinion, money should spend to create moments but overspending for display is preventable.