Some people argue that spending a lot of money holding birthday parties, wedding parties and other celebration is a waste of money. However, others believe such parties are important for individuals and for society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In most cultures celebrating important events in life with others is common. It is debatable whether the money spent on these parties is wise spending or not. In my view, it is important for one ‘s personal and social life to mark and share special occasions but I would advise limiting expenses and investing instead of spending. This essay will discuss this in the following paragraphs. Firstly, there are cultural requirements that require celebrating birthdays or marriages in most societies. These celebrations enrich our social lives, express our culture, and bring us closer to family and friends. Secondly, events in our personal lives are often regarded as important occasions now for a break in our daily routine. Thirdly, it is a means to express our appreciation for people that matter to us: the person we marry or the friend, who holds a birthday party. Celebrations bring extended families together or let us catch up with friends we have not seen in a long time. Also, celebrating together can create connection among guests and it can be a good way to keep in touch with relatives and friends and hence spending money on parties is important. However, excessively spending on celebrations can come with high costs, even leaving the hosts in debt. There are certainly longer lasting investments than throwing a party. For example, instead of blowing their money on an expensive wedding, young couples could invest in property or higher education. Celebrating by overstretching your hard-earned money is unwanted and should be wiser to scale down the event and work on limited budgets. This way, they can reap the benefits of celebrating and for social display expensive gowns and jewellery can be rented reducing the expenses. In conclusion, I believe celebrating events in an individual’s personal life with friends and family is means to preserve or observe traditions. In my opinion, one should aim to keep the cost within the available budget instead of trying hard to impress guests and show off. After all, it is about sharing the joy of a marriage or a birthday with people close to us.