CONSUMERS ARE FACED WITH AN INCREASING NUMBERS OF ADVERTISEMENT FROM COMPETING COMPANIES. TO WHAT EXTENT ARE COSUMERS INFLUENCED BY ADVERTISEMENTS? WHAT MEASURES CAN BE TAKEN TO PROTECT THEM?

Many customers in the world are being affected by overwhelming business promotions. This essay will discuss if business promotions have an impact on people and suggest some measures that can be taken into account to protect customers from commercials. To start off with, I think that advertisements can have an impact on consumers ´ choices because these ones are carefully studied by specialists, such as publicists and psychologists. In other words, those professionals study the behaviour of consumers which gives them information to know what they wish or want. Another reason for this impact could be the number of promotions or commercials shown on the internet. For example, whenever people enter on the Youtube channel, they immediately see the unavoidable adverts. Finally, people end up buying what they see in the advertisements without searching for any other product, just because they have watched them many times or simply because they feel emotionally identified. There are two kinds of measures that should be taken into account in order to reduce the impact on customers, politically and psychologically speaking. First, entities that protect consumers should make different types of social video clips so as to raise awareness about the influence of ads on consumers. It might help to prevent some useless purchases and save people´s money. Second, authorities should legislate and regulate the number of times that a commercial is displayed on the internet. For example, commercials could be presented one or two times, but if there is more than two, there should be a penalty for the company. In conclusion, although, there are specific impacts on customer decisions, some solutions can tackle this problem such as creating awareness about this issue and deploying policies that might be effective to reduce the influence of adverts on consumers.