Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discus both views

As a way of protecting wildlife, people use zoos. Further, they also provide entertainment to the public. On the other hand, can people protect animals by keeping them caged in the zoo?; are we not violating thier the right to be free? As every story says there are two sides for a coin, and I will discuss both in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, many endangered animals need a safe environment to survive and hopefully reproduce to protect their species. Zoos provide the needed facilities for the people to assist these animals, because they are safe and well looked after facilities. Therefore, zoos can be used to protect ecologically important animals. Furthermore, they provide a form of education through entertainment. Looking at the various animals and seeing them in their natural habitat is a very calming experience and an enjoyable one. It also provides knowledge ofis the animals behaviour and their environment. This knowledge can be used to help save different ecological systems. The best example is the pandas. It is through studying them in these confined environments that scientists learned to help the pandas overcome extinction. On the other hand, humans are violating the rights of the animals by keeping them caged in zoos. Many have made it a trade, and as a result, there are a lot of animals that get abducted from thier habitat, later being sold to various zoos around the world. Indonesian gorillas are on such animal species that suffered through trade. As such, they not only lose thier right to live freely but also it could endanger their survival. To conclude, zoos do assist to protect animals and ecological systems but it should not be conducted in a way that thier rights are violated.