Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today many believe that scholars attending single-sex schools have superior academic performances while others claim that studying in mixed schools results in better social skills for adult life. Both views accompany significant benefits for younger individuals, however, it is my personal belief that attending unisex institutes are more beneficial for students. This essay will analyse both views with arguments and examples to prove the point. On the one hand, the positive upside associated with attending all boys or all girls institutes is that students won't be easily distracted. Having both boys and girls in a single classroom environment is bound to be distracting for both parties. This is because, without a doubt, there will be individuals who become attracted to each other and such a trend is inevitable in a unisex classroom setting. As an example, boys will try their hard to impress girls to try and get their attention and vice versa. This in return will cause a lack of focus in the classroom which translates to poor academic performance. Thus, the benefit of single-sex schools is that students can clearly focus on their studies without being distracted. On the other hand, attending unisex schools will allow children to develop their social skills for the future. It is due to the fact that interaction with the opposite gender may help boost confidence levels. For instance, individuals who have no issue communicating with the opposite sex tend to have better connections and social skills when they're adults. As a result, having supreme social skills prove to be extremely advantageous in job opportunities in the later stages of their lives. Hence, attending mixed schools can be extremely beneficial for future endeavours of students. In conclusion, the benefits of both views are outstanding and incontrovertible. Nevertheless, it is my personal belief that boost of confidence and social skills from attending mixed school outweigh the advantages of attending an all-boys or girls school.