Nowadays foreign visitors show more interest in the museums of a country than its local residents do. Why is this happening? What can be done to attract more local residents to the museums of their country?

Museums around the world are thought to attract more foreign visitors than local inhabitants. This is understandable, since the natives are well-taught about their own nation’s historical and cultural aspects from primary education level while the museum has nothing but proof of their subject. Therefore, museums should promote themselves as something else than just a collection of antiques. Most of the local inhabitants have already know about their history from a young age, which makes museums less appealing to them. As a conservation center for antiquities and a history lecture hall for students, local museums may have been part of their childhood, with records of extracurricular courses, history classes, or family trips being held there. As a result, people are uninterested in museums in general. However, many foreigners find other countries’ cultures and history interesting, so museums may be considered on their trip. Another point is about people’s perspective on developments. The majority of the global population seeks changes, upgrades, and innovations. With how industrialization and the Internet enhances accuracy and efficiency, it is down to creativity to produce a breakthrough in any industry. Products will be released more frequently to interest people, so museums will be forgotten easily. To interest local visitors, the museums themselves must innovate. They should organize expeditions or marketing campaigns to attract visitors. Also, they should think about using the latest technology, such as virtual reality programs, to provide the best experience for visitors. There will be more options for visitors to try, so their return is guaranteed. To conclude, the lack of local visitors comparing to foreigners is because of their monotonous content and with some renovations, as well as new options, the natives will be interested in returning again.