Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

International sporting events is a competitions that may attract international attention. There are some arguments about whether governments should invest more in that kind of activities or in other public needs. I partially agree with the idea to spend more on individual training for some reasons. As we already know, sports have become one of the most popular entertainments around the world and currently, there are so many competitions among countries. Nowadays, the sporting event has a big influence not only to entertain spectators but also for other types of benefits like national pride and peace. As the clear example, we may look at the Philippines. It is a conflict territory that shows tribe war on a daily basis. However, the situation will drastically change when Manny Pacquiao (a popular boxer from the Philippines) has an international match on that day. People will sit together in a cafe to watch their representative. Philippines boxing won't be that successful if government refuse to invest much in athlete development. Sporting events also have a benefit to boost state popularity and identity. For the illustration, we can find it in Jamaica. Previously, nobody recognized the presence of the country until they could win the running Olympic. A similar condition happens to Ivory Coast when people start to dig deeper about the country when they had been selected as one of the world cup participants. By increasing popularity, it may help to affect other sectors like tourism, venture, etc. Despite there are many positive impacts by spending public money more for International Event success, we have to consider the rate of investment efficiency. Governments should consider what type of game that will easier to be improved. In Indonesia, the goverment has spent billions of dollars to create a better national football team, yet it has been a fruitless effort. On the opposite, the other sports which have got Olympic medals like badminton and weight lifting have only been provided by a small amount of cash. In conclusion, it would be a great situation to have country which may has International Sports achievements. But, government should consider the financial feasibility about what type of sport that may have a higher impact with less effort. Therefore, the idea to spend on sports training should be continued with a note to analyze it scrupulously before making a decision.