Write about the following topic: Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those who live in a house. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some that living inside a high-rise building is an unsocial experience. On the other hand, others say that residing in such a place gives a higher communal feeling than that of a house. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I feel living in an apartment actually reduces community spirit. In the skyscrapers of big cities, the residents of apartments hardly get a chance to know another. They have a rare reason for meeting other special events or in the elevator. For example, in a study, 120 families living in an apartment building were asked to name two of their neighbours. Only 10% managed to do this properly. It is not possible for flat-dwellers to nurture their relationships unless they were friends beforehand. As a result, the social interaction between members of tall buildings is low. On the contrary, it is impossible to survive alone in an apartment building. Since people living in these types of homes are often bachelor or newly married couples, when problems arise it is inevitable for them to seek out help next door. For instance, when a man residing in a New York city building was asked how he manages to live alone, he explicitly mentioned about his friendly neighbours that they lend a hand for many of his chores. Therefore, it is required to have connections with people living beside you in order to reside in such apartment blocks. In my opinion, the chances of developing a strong friendship with your neighbours are minimum in city skyscrapers. People are too focused on their busy lives and rarely get the occasion to socialize within their building, as opposed to the residents living in houses. In conclusion, staying in a high rise building is difficult without help from the community. However, I believe that it actually gives you fewer means of socialization with neighbours without any specific purpose.