Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Governments, police and policymakers have long sought ways to decrease crime. While some people believe that lengthy jail sentences are the best way, others think that there are better alternatives. In this essay, I will consider both views and explain why I feel treatment and education programs are vital to curb crime. According to some, incarcerations, particularly for extended periods, is society's most powerful way to deter criminality, The rationale is that would-be offenders would think twice before committing a crime if they had the threat of prison, and all the discomfort, danger and stigma that it entails, in their minds. Indeed, this is why many countries, the USA in particular, continue to take a tough stand on crime by imposing increasingly lengthy sentences and locking up even petty offenders. Though this may seem to tackle the problem, the soaring crime rate in the US proves otherwise. Others propose alternative solutions to the crime problems. Rather than sending offenders to jail, some systems prefer to use community service as a penalty. This involves the perpetrator contributing in some way to society, such as cleaning or helping on community projects, as a means of reparation. Such programs have had success although for serious or violent criminals, this is not a viable option. In my view, even though imprisonment is still necessary in order to protect society from dangerous people, I feel that education and rehabilitation programs both in prison and in the community are the best ways to reduce crime rates. In Australia, for instance, the vast majority of criminals have mental health or addiction issues. These underlying factors must be dealt with in order to prevent reoffending. Without them, released prisoners are bound to end up behind bars again. In conclusion, although imposing longer jail terms may seem to be deterrent to crime, other options are more effective. I feel that dealing with addiction and mental illness is key to driving down the crime rate in the long term.