There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of country more important than the international music that is head everywhere nowadays?

Music is everywhere in society. From coffee shops to elevators to working out at the gym, music is around us and playing constantly. Music is needed for society to function. First and foremost, music helps you relax. When I have insomnia and can't sleep, I put on lullaby music and it always puts me to sleep. I am not the only one who feels the same way; I have read hundreds if not thousands of blogs recommending different kinds of music that make sleeping easier. Furthermore, music is used as a way to make friends. There are many online forums and gatherings based on music such as concerts and music festivals. Many people go to these music concerts to make friends. If for example you like K-Pop, and go to a BTS concert with others who like BTS, you have a common language to speak: music. In general, people not only like music from their own country, but also international music. I believe that international music is the way of the future. Since English is becoming a language spoken all around the world, music from other countries is becoming more and more infused with English words. Music could also be used to help political tension. One example of music helping ease political tension is when a K-Pop band Girls Generation went to North Korea and did a concert for the North Korean President Kim Jong Un. This concert helped connect the otherwise secluded North Korea to the world and because of this concert, North Koreans became less secluded and even attended an Olympics for the first time in over 50 years of their existence. In conclusion, international music is more ubiquitous and accessible to people because of the Internet. Thirty to fifty years ago, the only way to hear South Korean music was to go to South Korea and buy a vinyl, CD, or cassette tape. Now, all you have to do is go to youtube.com and type in "South Korean Music " and hundreds of thousands if not millions of results will pop up.