Government should spend money on Railways rather than Roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a booming breakthrough in the methods of transportation in order to support the growing population. Some argue that investing in rail lines would be beneficial, while others claim that improvements to highways would be more effective for overall transportation. I agree entirely with the first statement since travelling by road vehicles is the leading cause of environmental problems. On the one hand, improving and constructing new roads might increase the use of private vehicles such as motorcycles and cars. In addition, cars could occupy fewer passengers than trains. Consequently, it would lead to various environmental issues such as air pollution and traffic congestion. Furthermore, the numbers of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries are far higher than that of railway accidents since it has lower safety measures. On the other hand, the extension of the railway to cater to larger areas of any city considerably helps solve the traffic congestion problem on the highways since in one train cold hold many passengers. Additionally, it could cause less environmental pollution in comparison to transportation on roads. Apart from this, the railways have a fixed schedule. Thus, passenger can plan their itinerary. Lastly, using trains has no traffic congestion and is faster than cars and buses. Hence, the passenger would arrive at their destination on time. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that spending money on rails is more beneficial than on roads since trains cause comparatively fewer environmental issues. In contrast, road vehicles are the main reason for increasing pollution in every country. Moreover, travelling on railways are matter fewer accidents. Therefore, I recommend that the government set an organized plan to improve railways.