It is more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples.

History has an important part to take in the knowledge acquisition of children. There is no doubt that local history plays a vital role in understanding their ancestors ' sacrifice, but also I contend that they be taught world history to widen their knowledge. On the one hand, learning local history pays dividends for the growth of a child. Facts and figures in textbooks help these young individuals to pay homage to former soldiers and ancestors who sacrificed their lives for the sake of the country. Likewise, students get to know the origin of their ancestors and culture through historical lessons which reminds them of the role played by ancestors in preserving social norms and values till now. In Nepal, for instance, historical lessons are included in school syllabus as a compulsory subject, which includes all the wars fought and sacrifices made by ancestors in creating modern Nepal. This has helped to develop patriotism in young minds of school children.Needless to say, history has become an essential part of the education system in Nepal. On the other hand, it is wrong to neglect world history. As the world is becoming more and more open, today’s global citizens should learn more about other countries and regions to assimilate into the global community. For example, many Nepalese students find it exhilarating to know that South korea, as we know today as rich and developed country, was once suffering from hunger and poverty before Korean war. Studying the history of other countries helps to broaden a child's horizon, and they can learn lessons in developing a better society from bitter experiences of other country’s history. In conclusion, it is necessary for children to develop a passion for both local and world history in contemporary society. There should be no comparison between two areas of the subject because they contribute equally in the overall development of a child.