The number of people who are fat and overweight are much higher than previous generations. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve this problem?

Contrary to popular beliefs, obesity is not always associated with over-consumption of foods as disrupted metabolism can also be the culprit. The research found that modern society has more tendency to suffer from metabolic syndromes, compared to the older generations who are prone to malnutrition. This essay will discuss one of the reasons behind this statement and ways to fix it. Firstly, the sophisticated food technology and genetic manipulations of crops and livestock create long-lasting canned meals for massive distributions from the factory, which is not essentially good for the consumer. For instance, the concerning quantity of chemical additives is found in most of the ready-to-serve foods from convenience stores, which are consumed by a great number of people. Consequently, these added ingredients can cause long-term metabolic issues, namely obesity. Thus, if this unhealthy intake is sustained, it will create a serious degradation of the public's health conditions. Nonetheless, this phenomenon can be tackled by shunning factory-made meals and clinging to fresh ingredients that are usually found in traditional markets. For example, in spite of choosing canned meats from supermarkets that are conditioned to last for months, it is better to choose fresh meat from a local slaughterhouse to ensure its quality. This solution not only prevents society from toxic additives in processed foods that cause obesity but also other chronic diseases such as coronary heart disease and kidney failure. In conclusion, unhealthy metabolism occurs because of large demands for processed foods. Therefore, it is best to stick with natural food components rather than risk ourselves with dangerous diseases that might follow. Finally, technology does not always come with benefits as it can also create doom, hence why society needs to be a wise consumer to avoid them.