Many people think that it is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills in this technology age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since humankind moved into the age of technology, there has been a contrasting dispute relating to the essence of handwriting. Although many people reckon that we should not teach children writing, I still think it is important to children for its practical benefits. On the one hand, the digital revolution has taken over almost the world of work, leading to the fact that being computer-literate is one of the core skills to accomplish these days. Therefore, the requirement of computer-language proficiency and touch typing is vital in the working environment. For example, if an employee successfully applies for a manager position in an IT company, he needs to outperform other candidates in specialized knowledge and tech savvy. Next, many industries have changed to use technology as a means of communication, especially those in the commerce industry called E-commerce. Most of the time, to purchase or request information about the product, being competent in touch - typing would be advantageous. On the other hand, handwriting is, in my opinion, undoubtedly essential. For the spread and threat of the pandemic, people need to fill in many forms to declare their history of traveling and if they are safe for others. Children will indeed memorize and understand better if they take notes or write down the lesson, reinforcing the integration and practicality of handwriting in education. A typical example is to primary students, and writing will make time for them to acquire knowledge and have a deeper understanding. The script enables us to be more creative and thoughtful, as we can organize or convey ideas more legibly comprehensibly. To sum up, though we have become over-reliant on technology and dismissed the significance of handwriting, I consider that it is crucial and more flexible in the self-development of young children.