These days many people prefer to work longer hours and spend less time at home. Are there more advantages than disadvantages to this trend?

Nowadays, many people prefer to work longer hours and spend less time at home. Some people believe that such management can get you to a higher position in your job easily. However, some people believe that less time at home can affect their mental health and personal issues. In my opinion, despite each view having their own benefits and drawbacks, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. First of all, the main disadvantage of spending long work hours is it can lead to frustration which might impact one's performance at work. A recent study from Harvard Scholars discovered that spending time for ourselves is an important aspect of life. One of the main reasons is it balances the stress level in a human’s brain. In addition, a work environment can be so stressful that if it is not balanced with your break, it might turn into frustration. Second of all, spending less time at home might lead to missing important family events, such as kids' or spouses' birthdays or anniversaries. This situation can result in frequent family arguments. According to the National Mental Health Institution, it is observed that people who tend to skip family events tend to have a higher divorce rate compared to those who do not, with a significant gap of 15%. In conclusion, although there are several benefits of longer work hours such as faster promotion at work, I think that there are more drawbacks than benefits. Hence, working should be balanced with our own personal life for it not to be stressful and have a bad effect on our brain’s health.