Some people believe that the government should fund art and culture, while others think that it should only fund sciences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a contentious debate about the funding of government and whether money should be allocated to art and culture or to science. Although art and culture represent the unique identity of a nation, yet science domain is necessary for making improvements in society. On the one hand, proponents of art and culture consider that the government should finance art and culture as it depicts the special elements of a country. In order to maintain the interest of people in the creative field and to follow the culture, the government should fund this area. For example, had the Indian government not spent on the historical buildings, the ancient history related to India would not have been known to many people in world. On the other hand, supporters of science claim that the government ought to give precedence to science by funding because it is essential for the advancements in society. To justify, making improvements in society, scientists have to conduct experiments and research which require a hefty amount of money. Only higher authorities can aid with such a large amount of money. Therefore, science should be kept as a priority. For instance, governments are spending hundreds of thousands on clean energy sources. In my opinion, higher officials should release funds for both areas as these areas have insignificant value for the holistic development of a nation. This is because if art and culture do not receive some part of the budget, it will disappear in the future. Similarly, in case of a lack of money in the science domain, progress in the experimentation will be hindered. Thus, both aspects are equally important. In conclusion, several people contend that the government should finance art and culture whereas others think that priority should be given to science. I believe that an equal distribution of funds will be a wise approach; both areas are imperative for the overall development of a country.