Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

The trading market has significantly changed in recent years and vanishing high-street shops is one of its consequences. There are several reasons for this receding which I believe is a negative development. In my opinion, this issue has two main reasons. Firstly, shopping centres are becoming more and more widespread. Nowadays, many people are intending to go to shopping malls rather than high-street shops, because they can easily meet all their needs in one place while taking less time. For example, if they want to buy a dress and technology gadgets, they can do it in a shopping centre now while having had to go to different places in the past. Secondly, the younger generation mostly prefers online shopping. They can surf the internet among many online shops and fulfil their needs while staying at home. This has become even more popular during the covid-19 pandemic when people have been forced to avoid the crowd. Personally, I see this as a negative development. Vanishing high-street shops will result in more unemployment which is a burden to the government. These people, who are the owners, will need a new career to cover their living expenses and the government should make more job opportunities to compensate for this receding. Moreover, if there are no high-street shops, there will be no opponent for shopping centres or online shopping to compete and consequently, they can raise the prices; in addition to more traffic congestion around malls. Therefore, if these high-street shops had not gone out of business, people would have had the chance to fulfil their needs at competitive prices. In conclusion, it seems to me that the trend of vanishing these shops is a harmful development although there are two rational reasons behind it.