Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some parts of the community would opine that senior citizens of a country should allow working for more extended periods since the life expectancy of the community has risen. Due to the reasons like, scarcity in some fields of the workforce and their experiences and maturity in some areas are important to develop a country, this writer is in strong agreement with the given notion. To begin with,some senior citizens usually retire from their service at different ages but in,SriLanka it is now extended up to 65y. Furthermore, they are more experienced and mature to deal with subjects like education and authority services and hence, their service can be used to develop of any country. For instance, Mr P.B Jayasundara is a senior public servant in Sri Lanka. Due to his knowledge of economics and experience in foreign diplomacy, he was given an extended period to work in the government service up to the age of 75y. Hence, it is obvious that senior government servants can be very important to the development of a country. At the same time, with some natural events and war's young generation of a country can reduce in number. Moreover, this may lead to scarcity of workforce for certain areas and may need the service of retired persons to continue the smooth running of that field. For example, there was a period that a shortage of train drivers in Sri Lanka for various reasons. The government has reentered some of the retired train drivers and service was running uninterruptedly. In conclusion, with the expansion of the life expectancy of a community, senior citizens must give a chance to work for extended periods of time. Since their work can be used to uplift certain fields of work and they may cover the scarcity of some workforce of a country, this writer is in strong agreement with the given notion.