Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, there has been a breakthrough means of transportation in order to support the growing population. Some people argue that investing in railways would be beneficial, while others claim that improvements to highways would be more effective for overall transportation. I agree that the government should spend money on railways more than roads. On the one hand, improving and constructing new roads might increase the use of private vehicles such as motorcycles and cars. In addition, cars could occupy fewer passengers than trains. Consequently, this could lead to various environmental issues such as air pollution and traffic congestion. Furthermore, the numbers of road accidents and highway casualties are far higher than that of railway due to lower safety measures. On the other hand, the extension of the railway to cater to larger areas of any city considerably helps solve the traffic congestion problems on highways since one train cold occupy many passengers. Additionally, it could cause less environmental pollution in comparison to transportation on roads. Apart from this, the railways also provide a fixed schedule. Thus, passenger can plan their itineraries. Lastly, using trains has no traffic congestion and is faster than cars and buses. Hence, the passengers could arrive at their destination on time. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that improving rails is far more beneficial than roads since trains cause comparatively fewer environmental issues. In addition, trains could also occupy more passengers and provide fixed schedules. Moreover, travelling on railways could cause fewer accidents. Therefore, improving trains would be more effective.