In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today's world?

It would be argued by some that middle schools objective is providing a few subjects which are necessary for students job in the prospective. In my opinion, however, a widespread education with a lot of subjects need to be offered by intermediate schools. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people believe that children should focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a specific career. Firstly, this helps facilitate students' future career preparation. Only studying several subjects that will be of use in the forthcoming could allow enlistment to nurture in-depth knowledge and skills in the career they hope to pursue after graduation. Take an engineer as an example, to work in that field pupils only need to pay attention to a few subjects such as maths, physics or chemistry, while music or history might be not only redundant but also take them lots of time to learn. Secondly, these days, many recruiters tend to favour candidates with a good grounding in a single field over those who have general knowledge but has little or no expertise in a particular area. On the other hand, I would argue that it is important for that academy to widen young learners' insight. The first reason is children might have more opportunities to gain an overview of a wide range of subjects and understand different aspects of life. This is because they are able to explore all kinds of fields with support from institutions. These things help them develop comprehensive thinking and become a more well-rounded person. Another logic is the majority of children from 10 to 15 years old are not mature enough to decide which subject they are genuinely passionate about. If teachers ask them to determine which job they will work in the subsequent or which subject they think is advisable, It would be an extremely difficult decision for them. For that reason, they should be given the chance to get exposed to as many subjects as possible to identify their subject of interest. In conclusion, although others think that it is necessary for students to be concerned about subjects which are important to their job, I personally believe that it will bring a lot of benefits for them when secondary schools build a general learning programme.