Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the last 30,years there has been a significant rise in the individual ownership of vehicles which causes immense traffic jams in several metropolitan areas of the world. From my standpoint, this essay will justify the statement and will elaborate on how the authorities can take suitable action against this phenomenon. These days, everyone has some of the places they need to be. In the case of full- time,workers are required to reach their places of work before time. Instead of using the common ways to commute to their jobs and other places, most of the population use their own mode of transportation which contributes to the hour-long cluttered roads. The leading cause for the occurrence of this situation is the convenience that people want. Individuals who use shuttle buses or subway trains face major adjustment issues. Most of the passengers have to either stand for long durations or are crammed in seats by others. This concept also leads to immense wastage of time, which creates unfortunate conditions for them by being late for their employment. Therefore, most of them feel it’s better to travel on your own without any worries as it saves time and money. Also, with the availability of second -hand cars, there has been an escalation in sales which is another reason why the private ownership of these vehicles have skyrocketed and caused the roads to be jam-packed in the cities. However, there are a few applicable methods that can be implemented by the government. First and foremost, the concept of carpooling can be imposed. The phenomenon of travelling together in one vehicle is known to generate incentives which include saving of financial resources, time management and lessening environmental degradation. Secondly, the Odd-even system of cars can also be incorporated. Cars with odd and even number plates can be used to travel on alternate days in the week. For example, in Delhi - the polluted air made the city the highest in the air quality index. The immediate application of this rule lessened the smog that was generated by the use of automobiles. Moreover, fines can also be assigned to people who are neglecting the laws sanctioned by the parliament, which will motivate people to abide by the rules and regulations in a strict manner. In conclusion, the use of automobiles by specific people leads to congested traffic jams. If the government takes early measures and actions, then this concept can witness a significant reduction.