These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, large numbers of online courses are available in many universities. It is often discussed as a controversial issue revolving around whether it is beneficial or there are more drawbacks to distance learning. In this essay, I will discuss both views in detail and also discuss why I think there are more disadvantages than advantages. On the one hand, students can get large numbers of benefits by taking e-learning studies. Firstly, streaming web-based courses provides remarkable convenience for students. Since they do not need to be physically in schools, they can save their time and money. To give a clear example, a student does not have to pay for the transportation systems to attend the school which saves the transportation fare and commuting time. Secondly, it gives learners immediate access to the faculties. Learners can instantly reach out to the professors with questions and view class documents on the internet. For instance, if there is something they do not understand in the field of their study, they are able to ask through the internet. Unlike with ones who attend in-person classes, online students typically do not need to wait until the scheduled class time to meet a professor or peers. On the other hand, there are some problems that emerge along with positive aspects. To begin with, there is no physical contact with classmates. Consequently, that may lead to being reticent and taciturn. For example, some research shows that 70% of pupils who take online courses are found to be more difficult to communicate with and are generally described as laconic. On top of that, they are more likely to encounter technical issues during class. Due to the throng of people attending the same platform simultaneously, problems with network connections or servers may arise. To exemplify, some confront difficulties with network connections when they took a distance class. There was a delay between the sound and the visual which yielded in a tinge of dissatisfaction. To conclude, although there are some advantages to online courses such as convenience and immediate access to the faculties, there are less in-person interaction and technical issues as well. I personally believe the drawbacks overshadow the benefits.