Some people think that government is wasting money on arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree with this view?

Proper allocation of a country's resources is paramount to national development. While some people believe that money spent on arts is a waste of a nation's valuable resources, others disagree with this view. In my opinion, money should be channelled to all sectors of the economy for rapid economic development. This essay will discuss both views and provide a logical conclusion. Firstly, proponents of this view believes that a greater part of national income should be distributed to more important areas such as science and scientific research, technological advancement, infrastructure, education, security and engineering. This is because these areas contribute immensely to national development, transforming a third world country into a developed nation. Also, channelling more money into research will lead to discoveries, innovations and overall national growth as will be seen in the improvement in the standard of living, advances in medical sciences, newer methods of diagnosis and treatment of disease and ailments and academic prowess. For example, in India, valuable wealth was spent in the area of education and medical research. Today, India has one of the best medical doctors in the world, with an improvement in the county's economy. Conversely, opponents of this view are of the belief that fund spent on arts is not a waste as this has contributed to economic growth, creation of job opportunities and engagement of youths and citizens. For example, when a country invests in tourism and hospitality, there will not only be an economic boost, but employment opportunities as well, as many tourists from different parts of the world will come for tourism. More hotels and guest houses will be built which will absorb the unemployed citizens. Also, investing in arts will foster a nation's unity through cultural heritage and cultural ties. To conclude, adequate distribution of resources is necessary for overall national development, unity and improvements in the standard of living. While it is important to invest in science and technology, investment in arts is also crucial.