Government should spend money on Railways rather than Roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is an intense debate whether the government should invest more money on railways or roads. To that extent, I am partly in agreement due to the following reasons. First of all, I believe that even more people are tending to use public transport instead of private cars. Trains are usually punctual, and in most the cases cheap (if we consider the current fuel price). Depending on the cities, trains are the best way to commute to work and also the safest way to back home if we went out. Even though we should coordinate our life in order to be on time at the train station, the train still being the best choice. A recent survival shows that, in the latest year the number of citizens who prefer the train as transport has been increased in 26%, whereas the percentage of those who preferred their own car, has plunged in 56%. For those reasons, I believe that governments should invest more money in order to improve railways' quality. Notwithstanding, we could also notice that,in developed countries, the status of their roads is proof of their wealth. Otherwise, citizens are also aware that the high percentage of accidents on roads is due to their poor conditions. For instance, the Canary Islands has the highest percentage of accidents this is because they are not private roads, thus, the maintenance is government's responsibility. In my opinion, the government should invest more money in order to improve railways conditions but at the same time, they should not forget the main roads and highways because the number of accidents is increasing year after year