modern scientist need specialist in certain fields not in others. some people think that government should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Education is a primary requirement for building any career. However, there is a raging debate among people whether the government should opt to fund only the branches of education that are essential for society rather than financing less important subjects like literature and Arts. This essay will discuss this topic further. Firstly, the fields of science require exorbitant funding. Needless to say, to set up a laboratory in a medical institute or to develop a workshop in an aeronautics class will consume most of the university money. In such circumstances, universities are coerced to spend more on such expenditures. Therefore, the university committee has to be biased in distributing the funds. On the other hand, subjects like literature or sports may not be as costly. In simple words, the expense of writing a book or playing football is less than building a rocket. Often such branches of education are considered as providers of entertainment and not value-adding to society which consequently results in less importance during university education. Also, providing money to a person to learn dancing or singing who does not acquire the potential to such talents is a waste of funds. Certainly, there would be fewer students opting for these subjects and thus a reduction of incoming fees for the universities. In my opinion, the government should implement a policy regarding distributing more funds to important subjects because, they require practical knowledge and the other subjects are majorly based on the innate talent of an individual. For example, the world cannot have a doctor without any appropriate medical devices but a world renowned dancer has to practice on his/her own. All in all, some subjects have more importance in developing society compared to others. In my perspective, the advantages like appropriate facilities in institutes and building a better future outweigh disadvantages of producing fewer singers, dancers or sportspeople and reduced university income.