In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children thi message?

At this present time, So many parents tell their kids that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. Even the media and celebrities have been trying to send this message to younger people to motivate them. Moreover, this perspective has advantages such as motivating them for success and also disadvantages like damaging consequences of failure like losing confidence. In this essay, we will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of this message. To begin with, telling children that they are capable of gaining any position in life or getting anything they want if they try hard, can motivate them to grind for success. For instance, recent studies have shown that younger children are more influenced by others' opinion and their beliefs which will become stable in the future. This shows that what we tell our kids have an immense impact on their behaviour in the future. Therefore, children who are told that they can do anything with enough effort, are more likely to be motivated when they grow up. On the other hand, the big downside of this message is that children who fail in an attempt to achieve something will immediately lose confidence in their potential and their skills when other factors may be involved. For example, some children generally do better in sport due to their physical features or maybe because they are a few months older than the rest. Ignoring these factors will let children believe that they are part of the problem and they will start blaming themselves. Thus, telling kids that they can achieve anything with just enough effort can let them believe that they are not good enough if they don't succeed. In conclusion, telling children that they can gain anything that they want, can motivate them to commence their efforts in order to succeed.