The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Films and TV shows today are filled with attacks and as a result, violence is increasing in our societies. I agree that by censoring such programmers and films, some amount of violence can be decreased. In the following paragraphs, I shall put forth my arguments to support my views. Firstly, reducing the amount of fighting on TV and in the cinema would certainly be a good start decreasing violence among the community. It is a well-known fact that the media possesses a lot of power to influence society. So, those in the media must be judicious about delivering news in a balanced manner that brings the story to the consumer in harmony. Secondly, there are many harmful effects of programmers on individuals and society. The most disturbing effect is on the children and youth. Media violence can stimulate fear in some children as it frightens them, making the effects long-lasting. This can become traumatic in our children as they see it more and more. Youth are starting to grow and are shaping their personalities, values and beliefs. They can become aggressive or they can lose a sense of reality and fiction of what they are seeing. Moreover, young people imitate what they see and it is logical that they see glamour in what they do when they commit violence. Consequently, humanity suffers as the streets are full of violence. Finally, too much portrayal of these also leads to immunity among the people and they are not affected by the disasters anymore. Disasters like tsunamis and earthquakes don’t make people shed a tear anymore. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, having a check on the violence in TV programmers and films, would certainly be a good start to decrease the violence and crime in society.