Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and societies. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by many that social networking sites have negatively impacted personal lives and society. This essay will argue that these sites have in fact hampered them. It will be demonstrated that because of online social media, people are inclined to showcase fake happiness and are prone to fake news. Life is full of ups and downs, but people mostly tend to show the positive aspects when posting on social media. As a result, this gives a fake impression to their peers, making them discontent with their own lives. For example, researchers have commented that teenage Instagram users suffer more from depression, as they see their friends hanging out, going on trips, enjoying life, while they are confined to their homes. Social media provide a false sensation to an individual that he is the only one with problems, while others are leading a perfect life. Therefore, social sites are making people feel more isolated while they were actually designed for the opposite. Online propaganda has become a big problem in recent years. It is very easy to share biased and unverified information online if they are believable enough. For instance, former US President Trump has been accused of spreading invalid news to collect more votes and solidify his party’s position. If a well-constructed lie is told repeatedly, it is very tough to separate it from the truth. The emotional public tends to take action based on these posts without thinking twice. Hence, social networking sites have eased the widespread of fake news. In conclusion, by forcing people to display their imperfect lives as flawless and streamlining the spread of fake knowledge, social networking sites are harming people both individually and as a society. Thus, I agree that social media is impacting us negatively and proper regulations need to be enforced.