Some people are of the view that only university education can ensure success, whereas many others oppose this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there was an argument about whether the role of higher education is monumental for someone's success. While proponents believe that the debate is true, opponents opine the other way around. From my perspective, I strongly lean towards the advantages of a higher educational background since its contribution has been fundamental in our lives. To begin with, some individuals view that only a university education can assure prosperity due to the requirement from the hiring company. Most of the prominent organizations only recruit graduate candidates with outstanding academic records from reputable universities. For example, the "Big Four" accounting firms in my country only hire cum laude finance undergraduates from the University of Indonesia. Consequently, this kind of custom creates a need for someone to carve a strong academic acumen. On the other hand, others believe that there must be another avenue than a mere educational degree as the main reason for their opinion is skills in work can be acquired through real-life experiences. For individuals who aspire to become entrepreneurs, taking a 4-year commitment in college instead of starting their business early will be an opportunity cost. For example, my peer who had secured a steady income from his small business decided to become a full-time businessman and, hence, drop out of college. Besides, major corporates will give some sort of training program to their new employees prior to working in the firm anyway. In conclusion, both views of the debate have their merits. On balance, nevertheless, I think that the tremendous benefits of acquiring an undergraduate degree outweigh some possible demerits. At the end of the day, having an undergraduate degree is a sharable achievement for our future offspring.