It is too expensive to look after and repair old building. This money should be spent on building modern building instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, the number of old buildings in urban areas has been increasing, which is one of the serious issues the local authorities have been facing. There are some voices that the local governments should spend their public money on building modern architectures in stead of looking after and repairing old buildings. I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will take up this issue and elarborate elaborated the author's opinion. First of all, according to a survey on the reasons why many local governments opt to preserve old architectures in their areas, more than 70 per cent of all respondents state that they promote the conservation of those outdated buildings to keep their traditional ways of building alive. If they quit spending public money on conserving such kinds of buildings, this will lead to the lost of traditions. Thus, I strongly disagree with the statement mentioned in the introduction part. However, there should be a counter view that if we do not stop providing financial supports with such buildings, the amount of financial resources that we need for the maintenance of them will keep increasing. In addition, other people would say that we will suffer from a lack of space for building a new building if we do not start to demolish outdated ones. But, we should consider the importance of traditions as well. To sum up, the growing number of old buildings has been one of the serious problems in urban areas. Although some people state that the local governments should take use of their public money to build modern buildings, in terms of preserving traditional ways of architectures, I strongly disagree with the former idea.