The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

There has been a huge advancement in the internet and social media in the past few years. Certainly, this widespread availability of the internet allows people living far away from each other to stay in contact while creating a large group of individuals who are isolated and refrain from socializing. I completely agree with the above statement and this essay will further explain my agreement in detail. The world wide web and internet has made the world a global village. People living far away in different nations are able to communicate hassle-free because of various applications like Skype, Zoom and likewise. In addition, the increasing awareness of social media has facilitated people to stay in touch with their near and dear ones. For instance, with the help of applications like, facebook it is easy for people to find long lost school friends as well as make new friends without stepping out of their houses. Hence, it is true to say that the internet and social media allows society to stay connected irrespective of the distance. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks of this emerging technology. First, when people spent more time on these sites, they usually stay detached from their parents and siblings living in the same house. Consequently, emotionally connections among family members gets impacted negatively. Secondly, as these social media apps involve communication mainly in the form of chats and text messaging, the extent to making a face to face conversation becomes nil. For example, a recent study at Oxford University shows that in the past few years there has been increasing in youngsters who are self-involved and are becoming introverts. To reiterate, despite bringing the world together internet still plays a major role in creating differences among people living with each other. In my opinion, wise utilization of technology is the only solution to cope with this emerging negative trend.