Nowadays more and more people choose living separately from their families. What are its causes and consequences

Smoking is apparently harmful to people’s health despite its legitimation, thereby is it suitable to prohibit all smoking behaviour in public areas? From my point of view, I do not approve of it to a large extent. Admittedly, smoking may have a negative effect on individuals’ lungs, which might cause a series of diseases such as lung cancer if being addicted to it for a long time. In light of this fact, it seems to be reasonable for the government to ban smoking in all public places so as to make smokers healthier by law. Simultaneously, since smoking can also affect the people staying around smokers, prohibiting smoking in public places could protect those “innocent” people from the harm of cigarette. Hence, in terms of the interests of both smokers and non- smokers, this method seems to be plausible. Nevertheless, cigarette would be addictive, which means the public who keep smoking for a long time may be uncomfortable if they cannot smoke for several hours. In terms of this, it might be not feasible to ban smoking in all public areas since it would affect some people’s normal lives and freedoms. Furthermore, if the law is announced, smokers may tend to stay at home to study or work. If this happens, not only can some citizens’ health be influenced due to the lack of walking outside, but the national economy might also be affected adversely. To sum up, although this plan seems to be beneficial to people’s health, it may be unfeasible if the feeling of smokers and other potential consequences are considered. From my perspective, if the government can use some softer ways to guide people not to smoke, this plan might be plausible in the future.