International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country that they visited. Do Advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the growth of the international travel industry has brought many benefits to both travelers and the host nations which receive them. While there are serious negative consequences of this development, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages. On the one hand, there are some aspects of international travel. Principally the tourist trade, which raises cause for concern. In terms of the tourists themselves, they often arrive at an overseas destination only to find that the prices of everything are grossly inflated. They may be overcharged for everything from a taxi, a meal in a restaurant or buying a souvenir. In terms of the host country, the problems of waste disposal, pollution and unregulated construction of hotels and tourist attractions often result in permanent damage to the environment. Many beach resorts in Thailand and Malaysia, for example, have become “concrete jungles” of high-rise hotels and apartments to accommodate mass tourism from Europe. On the other hand, despite such grave issues, these are not insurmountable and must be considered against the advantages of the growing international travel industry. Firstly, there is ever-greater competition among tour operators to provide value for money holidays, so that holiday-makers can enjoy their experience of a foreign country and culture to the full. Secondly, the influx of foreign tourists brings money to the host country through the provision of jobs and services for the developing hotel and construction industries. Employees in these sectors generally benefit from higher wages and improved living standards. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of international travel for both travelers and host countries are greater than the drawbacks, serious though these are.