In some countries it is illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

One of the progressive thoughts of social life brought about by globalisation is recognition and respect given to the elderly. Few nations have even made it illegal if job applications are refused on account of the age of the job seeker. This is the fact, is a positive development because taking care of older people is one of the prime responsibilities of society. On the one side, senior job aspirants have years of expertise in that field. They can make rapid and quick decisions because of their experience. They are capable of dealing with any situation. This will be extremely beneficial to businesses. For instance, the Metro Man, Mr E. Sreedharan is an epitome for engineers all over the world. Moreover, the elderly have their own financial needs. They will go broke if their job offers are refused. To illustrate, if children do not take care of their parents as they age, they will need to find work and earn a living in order to survive. In such cases, it would be extremely difficult for them if their employment applications are excluded. On the other hand, most firms prefer to hire freshers since they are willing to work for low pay and no incentives. Employers argue that the youngsters will have more physical strength than the senior professionals. Likewise, young competent are also anticipated to provide service for a longer period of time. However, it is not always the case. Some professions do not need muscular strength to excel whereas ideas and creativity are the keys. In conclusion, companies should provide equal opportunities to both younger and older generations regardless of their age. They should hire people with immense talents and abilities. So, age should not be a matter of a successful career.