Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the develop world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and college. To what extant do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Children facing problems with being over-weight or becoming obese is a growing problem in today's world. For this reason, it is argued by some people that advertisements related to high-calorie food should be banned in educational institutions. This essay will argue that restricting these promotions is a valid step. This essay will also demonstrate that taking this initiative will result in children consuming healthier foods and businesses rethinking their strategies. Advertisements play a very crucial role in modern society. Marketing departments of different companies target our subconscious minds to increase their profits. When a child repeatedly sees an enticing advertisement, he eventually makes a purchase decision. For example, a Burger King outlet beside a renowned school was not content with its sales. They placed a large billboard inside the institution by paying the authority a hefty sum. Within the span of a month, their sales doubled. Hence, it can be observed that adverts cause students to consume unhealthy snacks. In order to survive in today’s world, companies need to adapt to consumer needs. If promotions for unhealthy snacks are banned, they would be forced to sell healthy foods. For instance, due to health concerns Dhaka State College recently removed banners of fast food and sugary snacks. As a result, the restaurants surrounding the college introduced low calorie and fresh alternatives to their menus within a week. Therefore, it is clear that restricting these advertisements will influence sellers to revise their plans. This would benefit children as they will eat healthier foods. In conclusion, by allowing children to resort to better foods and forcing businesses to produce nutritional dishes, banning promotions of junk food can actually reduce obesity. Thus, I agree with the statement that they should not be allowed in schools and colleges.