Some believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that indulgance in a hobby leads to greater development of life skills in comparison to time utilized on reading. I strongly agree with the statement because involvement in activities helps in overcoming shyness in a behavior and it teaches a real life lesson. First of all, hobbies makes a person outgoing which helps in making a friendship circle. There are activites which involves participation of different people and it leads to the strengthening of bond among them which is not possible in case of reading books. For instance, game of cricket include 11 palyers in a ground, so to win a match there should be a team effort by all the members of team. If all the members of a team will not perform equally, the probability of winning a match declines significantly. Therefore, active pastime helps in the building of long term relationships by overcoming shyness, which plays crucial role in people lives. Furthermore, participation in activites helps to learn about real life lessons. To elaborate on this, hobbies makes us aware of real life problems, which is totally different from sitting inside home. Moreover, it enhances the creatvity among the people and make them to care for others, which is the fundamental principal of being human being. Such real life lessons are impoosible to learn by going through books. For example, it has been researched that those people who allocate more time on outdoor activites, appears to be more creative and smart in mitigating the daily problems. Thus, it plays a pivotal role in making us aware of real life issues. In conclusion, I agree with the statement that involvement in hobbies are more beneficial in enhancing life skills than that of reading books because it result in overall grooming of a person by making them extrovert and teaches the valuable learning about life which is challenging to gain only by reading books.