Rich people are getting richer, and poor people are getting poorer. The gap between rich and poor people is widening. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap?

Nowadays, our society is indeed very different in a way that we have not experienced before, in the sense that, the wealthy are getting wealthier and the poor are becoming poorer. These differences cause a huge problem in the community and in this essay I am going to explain how the current situation is detrimental and what can be done to minimise the gap. Firstly, one of the problems due to the income gap in a society is that poor people cannot afford good education and so they cannot be gainfully employed which has an effect on the country. The second issue is for example they cannot afford to have hygienic surroundings, which make them prone to diseases. These diseases are then communicated onwards in the places of their employment and the cycle of disease continues. Overall, these issues affect all of society and not just the poorer groups. Consequently, governments need to address these issues to reduce the gap and alleviate the situation. For example, making education affordable for everyone will bridge the divide between the affluent and non-affluent people groups. Another measure that can be implemented is providing soft loans to the youth of poorer sections for the purpose of setting up business enterprises. Additionally, providing them training to succeed in their initiatives. This is good for the community as well as for the economy in terms of making the difference between the haves and have-nots smaller. To summarise, everything that I have written above shows that there are things that can be done to minimise the economic disparity in a nation.