These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

The past ten years have seen stay-at- home dads increasing gradually in society. In the meantime, mothers can play a role as breadwinners as well. In this essay, I will illustrate the possible reason for men choosing a caregiving position in the family and it will be a good trend in our society. Fathers are willing to stay home and look after their offspring, which can be seen as one of the achievements of gender equality. For many people, having children can force parents to choose between career and family. In the past, the situation was like the father left to work and the mother took care of the children. Nowadays, parents will discuss if they choose to be hands-on parents and who stays at home. Due to awareness of gender equality, mothers are not the ones who have to give up their careers and more fathers are willing to be stay-at- home dads. Being a stay-at- home father can also increase male involvement in bringing up children. It can create stronger relationships with children and decrease family problems. In a 2015 study, children were found to have positive relationships with both their parents when the father stayed at home in a caregiving position and the mother left home to work. It can be seen as a good result in parents switching their traditional position in a family. In conclusion, it’s my view that stay-at- home dads are an achievement of gender equality. Moreover, this trend is a great improvement in society, which can reduce many family and social problems.