Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some that the sole cause for learning a foreign language is for travelling or job purposes in a foreign country. It is stated by others there are more reasons beyond this. I will discuss both views and explain why I believe there are ample causes to learn a dialect other than visiting that specific nation. The primary purpose of language is communication. People tend to only learn a dialect when they need to talk to its native speakers. For instance, an individual might only learn Swedish if he is planning to travel to Sweden or get a job there. It seems that there is not much motivation for an individual to know a language without this purpose. Hence, it might be observed that dialect does not have much usage other than conveying information to foreigners. On the other hand, another strong reason for learning a language is to understand its literature and culture. The public also attempts to learn a foreign dialect in order to read religious scripts. For example, if someone wants to enjoy the finest poems from Persian literature, he would at least need to know the basic vocabulary and grammar of Persian. Translations do not always capture the depth of the original text. Therefore, travelling to another country is not the sole reason to learn a new language. I believe that the functionality of a sound goes way beyond verbal communication. It constitutes a part of the identity of a nation. Thus, it is important to be taught that language in order to understand their poems, novels, plays, songs and stories. In conclusion, it might be perceived that learning a new language is not beneficial without going to that country. In my opinion, if one thinks deeply he would be able to realize that a language has greater purposes.