Test and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Taking exams has always been a confident way for schools and teachers to examine students ' knowledge. While in my opinion, it is a two-sided sword, I believe that the advantages of this are far more than the disadvantages. On the one hand, testing may result in mental issues and encourage a competitive spirit instead of team-working. Students may experience a high level of anxiety before and during their tests. If this issue becomes chronic, they will have to confront serious health problems in feature, especially in their job. For example, a marketer should be confident enough to present a good performance about introducing a new product, but he/she cannot succeed while dealing with a high level of stress and diffidence. Moreover, an examination is likely to encourage competition among students. They will try to get the highest score and even may mislead their peers. This probably causes selfishness and greed which consequently brings a more individualistic society. On the other hand, in my view, the testing system has two main benefits. Firstly, pupils have to study hard to pass their exams. Idleness would be hindered because if they do not try to learn and practice their courses, they will not be successful and have to take that class again. They also are likely to be aware of their talents and weaknesses in this way. Secondly, top universities in the world mostly choose their students based on their grades. Subsequently, the most talented students could attend a glamorous college and expand their knowledge with the help of scholarly professors and ambitious peers. As a result, they would lead to the scientific world which is full of opportunities to innovate. In conclusion, although testing would have some possible drawbacks, it seems to me that the potential profits would be more.