Many museums charge people for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Countless museums require a fee in order to allow people access inside but on the other hand, others do not ask for that. This essay will prove why benefits including having a source of income to be self-sustaining overshadow drawbacks like loss of interest by people. Museums are vital in society because they bring history to the present, however, for them to remain functional, they need regular funding. This can only be obtained through small commissions that could be availed through gate fees. For instance, many archaeologists experience a lot of difficulties and hurdles in their quests to acquire all the antiques that are displayed in the historic halls. Hence, for these expenses to be covered money is needed of which the easiest source is via payments on admission. This is the positive aspect of charging and the reason why it is better than any negatives that may result. Despite that being the case, there are some disadvantages like the loss of interest in museums by people. To put this in perspective, when individuals know that they are expected to make some form of payment in order to enter such a hall, they eventually want nothing to do with them. Take, for example, in a survey conducted on the effects of payments on people's attitudes, it was determined that the number of attendees reduced significantly due to little or no drive from people to pay the fees. Gladly, such challenges can be overcome by allowing people to make discounted payments in instalments. By way of conclusion, even though some people might become apathetic at visiting museums due to the fact that they have to pay in order to enjoy its services, paying actually helps these facilities to remain self-reliant financially. Therefore, I believe that the advantages outweigh any disadvantages.