People from older generations have difficulty using smartphones and new technology. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

The older the person, the less likely there are to embrace the internet, social media or smartphones. Seniors often struggle with keeping up with current fast-paced technology and devices. Herein, we will discuss the most likely reasons and solutions for this phenomenon. Most of the elders lived the majority of their life in a world where there was no phone or a piece of electronic equipment. This further makes their absorption of the new information very difficult as they do not have a baseline reference. For instance, my father does not understand the concept of groups on WhatsApp and how everyone can see one message and reply in one place. Another reason can be their age and health conditions. They are more likely to have limitations on how fast they can react and follow the instructions given by a device. In addition, it is proven that many seniors struggle with touch screens due to a condition called leathery fingers. For example, my father who is 75 years old has a hard time using the keyboard of a smartphone, he wants to press one key but ends up pressing two or three other keys. We might be able to resolve this by providing these solutions. Firstly, if we can provide them with assistance and encourage them to learn to operate these devices there will be many who would love to explore and experience the new world beyond their imagination. Secondly, we can attract older people by offering access to their friends and relatives whom they might have not spoken to or seen for years. Thirdly, educating them about all the health equipment they can access and operate can enhance their quality of life. In conclusion, though it looks like a difficult task to encourage our senior citizens to utilize the new machinery. It is not totally undoable. Putting in more effort and time to understand their struggles and answering them will definitely encourage them to reap the benefits of the current digital world.