In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The principle during the period of parenting children to study hard appears in some cultures. Overall, the drawback is it could depress their psychological condition whereas the benefits are it will encourage them to reach their dreams and always pay attention or focus on their goals. In my opinion, this phenomenon could cause mental health problems as children have the opportunity to choose what they want to do freely. For instance, parents in Indonesia always have a dream that their next generation must be better than them in the past. A previous study said that some types of kids will enjoy studying hard and attending many courses every day. On the contrary, some children would mind doing these routines. However, it happened to not all of the children in this country today. Furthermore, a mother or a father should understand the character of each child. The benefits of this principle are parents as primary caregivers might be able to identify which one of their children that could be motivated from the beginning. It is such a useful moment when a mother could assist all of them by giving motivation and support. For example, I am the second child in my family and I still remember that I have to wake up early and discipline myself in all aspects. Moreover, my father said that every people should analyze their capabilities and understand what should they obtain in their life. In addition, this positive value could empower me to be rigid on my schedule, especially to reach my future goals. In conclusion, it does not matter for some cultures to teach the next generation by trying hard for gaining and achieve a goal. Subsequently, parents as primary support systems should assess and evaluate the outcome, both physical and mental health of their children.