Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the advancement of technology has altered the way people live nowadays, at home, on holiday, and at the office. This essay will examine how IT has a deteriorating effect on data security and health concerns. To begin with, it is worth noticing that nowadays many people associate high tech with holding up their daily activities. By utilizing technology, much information can be easier for the public to access in order to expand their knowledge. To illustrate, when sophomores obtain a task about space from a teacher, they only need to use their cutting-edge technology, mobile phones with the latest series, for any material related to that issue. In addition, workers started to lessen their presence in the office since they can work from home or any place as long as their device has an internet connection. Despite those advantages, an increasing number of IT has a link to the criminals in society. Many applications require their user to share their personal information. Take Tokopedia as an example, one of the biggest e-commerce in Indonesia. The application enforces first the customer inputs their personal data: name, address, and credit card number before the seller processes their order. However, the regulation about personal details collected by all e-commerce in Indonesia has not yet been established, therefore, some customers’ data has leaked to the public. Consequently, a hacker use that data for phishing. Another downside is that cutting-edge technology drives folk to have a sedentary lifestyle. Owing to the increase of games or pleasure applications, more and more people tend to sit for longer than being active. This condition impacts the health condition of society which may raise some illnesses, such as obesity. In conclusion, although using high technology may make life easier, I firmly believe that the drawbacks are presiding since it increases the number of criminals and impacts people's behaviour. Henceforward, communities have to utilize information technology wisely in their life.