In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Nowadays, some privileged students in developed countries prefer to take a gap year for travel or work before getting involved in their formal university education. In this essay, I will elaborate on the merits and demerits of the gap - year plan. On one hand, taking this one- year pause is undeniably bringing many advantages to an individual’s life when it comes to a personal career choice in the long term. Firstly, being an averagely 18 - year - old teenager can hardly truly know what exactly the major he or she might want to pursue. In this case, high school graduates need to try on various jobs in order to find out the most suitable one for them to learn as their profession in the university. Furthermore, rich life experience can also make you fully prepared for university education. We have to admit that the gap year has the potential to teach students more valuable life lessons which can never be acquired in school. This can be illustrated if you decide to spend your time travelling around, where you will undoubtedly gain abilities to live and work independently. These precious attempts are great blessings for your upcoming college life. On the other hand, the one- year gap program is not for everyone due to its possible negative impacts. First and foremost, it won't be a wise decision for students who are weak at self-discipline, because it largely wastes valuable time. The initial purpose of taking a sabbatical is for earning experience or money in life, but without a determined heart and a strong purposeful sense. Eventually, it will be risky to lose academic momentum. Moreover, although travelling around for a long period of time can infuse us with some unforgettable experiences, based on the duration of the trip, it can be very pricy. Even worse, if you fail to make the budget planning properly, this can possibly trap you in a financial dilemma. In conclusion, taking a gap year before college entry bears pros and cons. Whether to take a gap year or not largely depends on your personal situation. Thus we should rethink seriously for our future.