in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In a few of the nations in the world, it is preferred by the youth to take a gap year between the completion of school and starting college. In my opinion, It is beneficial because the time period can be utilized by acquiring the skills which are a trend with the recruiters. Along with that, they can also take a trip around some areas where they can observe and learn more about the needs of the society leading to idea generation if the interest if to set up their own business in future and are more inclined towards entrepreneurial ventures. However, the gap can be a drawback in some cases as few students are not able to do the planning of the activities which can be done and it can even turn out to be a waste of a full year which is not acceptable in a few top colleges. Students can instil within themselves the knowledge and training of attributes for the interesting job role from the internet which can be like a trial for them and help them in understanding the area in which they excel. For Instance, online platforms like Coursera, edx, Youtube learning channels are the one-stop places where all streams have an abundance of modules to learn from. Furthermore, if the plan is to open up a small business of their own, this can require a great deal of time and planning and observation, forming up strategies and calculating total investment along with budget constraints. Businesses are formed out of the needs and wants and the societal impact. To brainstorm about it, travelling and discussion along the way are crucial factors. On the other hand, if the youth is not a responsible person, and has no plan for uncertain future outcomes, this inconsistency can be a disadvantage to them. They can get into bad habits or use substances under peer pressure. Their personality can be degraded as loss of formal communication which is prevalent in educational institutions along with supervision of the professors on the candidates. Moreover, the gap period in which there is no accountable work done is not a good point in the resume of the student as the selection criteria of some universities are strict about it. for instance, top b-schools like IITs. IBS, IIMs are terminate the candidature of the person if the gap is not justified properly. To summarize, the year gap can be a benefit if it helped in upskilling and getting a part-time job or a step towards becoming an entrepreneur or lack of concentration during the time will lead to a decline in future prospects and work along with no conversational skills and dull persona.