Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

At present, many youngsters are attracted to international modern cultures and they like well-known people more than historical figures in their countries. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons for such phenomenon and suggest some possible solutions to encourage individuals to concern more on important ancestries in the past. To begin with, the main trigger why young people nowadays are interested in oversea entertaining movements more than their local historical events is that they are likely to gravitate towards individuals they resonate with. In another word, compared to the domestic history, kids or young people prefer to get access to the latest cultures. For those people, instead of understanding some boring events in the past, they are more likely to pursue attractive contents, such as pop music or entertaining movie. Therefore, they are likely to ignore the famous people in their history. Moreover, another cause would be the rapid development of Internet and social media, which mislead people to focus on more entertaining contents rather than explore the historical meaning. Nevertheless, even though people are getting involved in such phenomenon, schools and governments can play roles to resolve this issue. On a school level, we should instil children to watch historical documentary series from elementary school age. In this way, children might be initiative to search for their own history and the ancients, thus they will have storing linkhood pink hood. Meanwhile, it also reminds schools to reinforce the historical classes. Besides, for local governments, they can carry out campaigns or lessons in communities and Internet, in order to appeal the mass to know more about the domestic historical movements. In this way, people may pay more attention on domestic cultures rather than international pop cultures. In conclusion, although there is a tendency to pursue international celebrities rather than figures from their country’s past, it can be resolved via the improvement and collaboration from school and governments.