A large number of advertisements nowadays are now targeted at children. Many people say this has negative effects on children and should therefore be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argued that a huge proportion of advertisements these days are now targeted at young people. And they believe that there are various negative impacts on children that should be prohibited. Personally, I partly disagree with this idea. On the one hand, it is true that commercials nowadays had an effect on children. For example, some products are promoted unhealthy foods and beverages which can lead to physical health problems in younger children such as obesity, diabetes and dyspepsia. Furthermore, some products in terms of entertainment such as toys and games are costly, which could cause conflict between parents and their children when children asked for their playthings and parents denied to purchasing them. However, I disagree with the idea that advertisements should be banned. Because in the modern world, economic progress is a significant factor in developing countries. Advertisement is the primary need for promoting a company’s products to people. Banning advertisements may reduce sales opportunities and lead to an economic downturn. In my opinion, a good parental role is more important to tackle this problem, for example, parents should teach their children how to spend their money and what to do in their free time. I think it is the easiest way to protect children from advertisements in the materialistic world. In conclusion, While I recognize the possible disadvantages of a large proportion of commercials that harm children both physical health and mental health, I consider it is the responsibility of parents rather than companies to teach their offspring about financial planning and provide them with healthy foods.